How do you assess distance learning and library instruction?

confusedWhen I joined Wright College as a full-time library faculty member many things related to education were foreign to me. I had a lot of questions and I was willing to ask anyone to get an answer. How do I get the students to stop talking? How do I get the students to put their cell phones away and to stop texting? I get an hour with 35 English 102 students how do I determine they understood my lesson? This leads us to assessment. You are thinking as librarians we keep statistics for everything, but determining if students are learning is a completely different ball game. I was fortunate enough to take the Faculty Development Seminar offered by the City Colleges of Chicago (CCC), and it was taught by two veteran faculty members at CCC. The instructors were Sharon Silverman, a library faculty member at Olive Harvey College, and Kennette Crockett, a English faculty member at Harold Washington College. It was just easy to learn from them with a room full of colleagues from other disciplines that were just as confused as I was about assessment, rubrics, syllabi, and active learning. Sharon Silverman my go to person when I have questions or I need to work out how I am going to engage students presented at the  ILCCO/NILRC conference: “Next Steps in eLearning”. As an instructor I was happy to see Sharon tie in the CATs (classroom assessment techniques) into her presentation. I learned a few things, and will be using CAT #28: Opinion polls in my Fall 2013 library instruction sessions. If you would like to view Sharon’s presentation check it out here!

Image from: madamenoire.com

One response to “How do you assess distance learning and library instruction?

  1. Reina, Thank you for the accolades!!

Leave a Reply

