What does it mean to be a tenure-track library faculty member?

Wow that is the longest job title, but I essentially call myself a library faculty member. I specialize in everything, but focus on library instruction, collection development, outreach, and reference.

There are many requirements I have to complete to get tenure, and one of them is to return to school to get 15 graduate credits in addition to my MLIS. If I had another graduate degree or a PhD I would not have to return to school, and the 15 credit requirement would be met.

So, I enrolled in a graduate certificate program at San Jose State University. Classes started yesterday and so far so good. I am enjoying the class discussions and it has been easy to navigate throughout the course site and the school’s website.

My assignment for Unit 2 is to create a blog post. I could have created a new blog, but why start from scratch when this blog is waiting for me!

I am taking 7 credits this semester and look forward to learning about new technologies I can bring back to Wright College Library. If I learn something cool, or have any technology tips I will post them to this blog. So, feel free to subscribe to the RSS feed.

Stay tuned!

Image

Leave a Reply

